Training for a Half Marathon

Emily Morello

Emily Morello,
Junior, Mechanical Engineering

Athens, OH 6 October 2016

This past summer, I started becoming more interested in running. I used to love running when I was younger. I ran the 4×400 m dash and the 400 m dash for track in middle school and high school. I also started running cross country in high school. Unfortunately, my running days came to an end due to very tight muscles in my knees. I had to go to physical therapy for a month in order to try healing them. The therapy did not seem to work, so I quit running for a year or so and my knees felt a lot better.

Last year, I decided to start running again since my knee pain was gone. It was a slow start and very hard to finish even a mile or two. This past summer, however, I had an internship at JPMorgan Chase in Columbus. A few of my friends from high school live there, so I was glad I got to hang out with them a lot. I decided to join a local gym with one of my friends so we could have something to do together after work. She not only worked out, but also ran a lot. She has actually finished a few half marathons in Columbus, which at the moment, I thought was crazy.

My friend, Marissa, motivated me to start running more. I stretch every day now, so the knee pain has not returned, thankfully. After I could run four miles pretty easily, I started asking her about the half marathon. She told me that I could find routines online that fit with my running level and how often I wanted to run, and there was one coming up in Columbus on October 16th 2016.

It took me a little while before I actually committed to the half marathon. I started my training in the middle of July, running three days a week: one easy run, one pace run, and one long run. Now, I am two weeks away from my first half marathon and feel very confident in my training. I finished ten miles last Friday and will continue to run for the next two weeks to work on speed. My goal is to finish in less than two hours. Training for this half marathon during school has been a pretty big commitment, but I am very excited that it will finally happen soon so I can feel accomplished.

Leave a Reply

