Celebrating Eid in Athens

Jannat Al Barwani

Jannat Al Barwani,
Junior, Aviation Management

Athens, OH 16 October 2016

Fall season has always been my favorite, when the warm sunshine rays hug the colorful trees. I enjoy going around Athens and experiencing nature’s beauty at this time of the year. As the trees start to transfer and fade in color by the end of fall how WONDERFUL is that!

What makes fall more exciting and great is that I usually gather with some of the lovely people I know here in Athens and celebrate what is called eid. Eid is a celebration that Muslims celebrate every year. It is called the sacrifice fest. People usually celebrate Eid as a holy ceremony about obeying god willing as prophet Ibrahim did. Muslims usually gather and celebrate this day by having lunch and praying.

Eid seemed very different here in Athens since my family aren’t around and not being able to wear new traditional clothes. The great company I have here in Athens makes me happy especially on that day as they made me feel as if I have another beloved family in Athens that I share wonderful and unforgettable times with. We enjoyed our time in Strouds Run State Park.

eid Celebration

It was a clear and lovely weather. We had delicious barbecue. It was very tasty that I couldn’t even stop eating.

eid Celebration

After enjoying the lovely lunch, we took a ride by the boats there and enjoyed the rest of the day catching up with each other and having a laugh.

eid Celebration

Leave a Reply

