Women in Aviation

Becca Sedlak

Becca Sedlak,
Junior, Aviation Flight

Athens, OH 27 October 2016

I have been apart of OU’s Chapter of Women in Aviation International for 3 years now. My best friend is the president and I am the Vice President and one of the most rewarding feelings we get is when we introduce other girls to aviation. One of my most favorite activities is Girls in Aviation day, which is hosted by OU’s Chapter of Women in Aviation. Girls from all over the Athens area come out to the OU airport for the day and learn about flight.

The girls range from kindergarten to high school but their reactions are the best. Four short years ago I was in their shoes and was just learning about aviation. So much information was thrown my way and I fell in love with how amazing flight is. I also enjoyed how the female pilots added a little feminine flare in a prominently male field with their pink lanyards, lip-gloss and airplane inspired shoes.

This year a female helicopter pilot from the National Guard flew in with her crew from Charleston. I don’t know who was in more awe the parents, the girls or us college kids. My favorite questions one of the little girls asked was why she had so many pockets on her uniform. The Lieutenant then explains she keeps her phone in one pocket, her credits cards in another and then she keeps her lip-gloss in another pocket.

The best part of the day was the end because I saw how each one of the girls left amazed. The girls left thinking that they can be anything their little hearts desire and I know that I helped to achieve that.

Leave a Reply

