New Beginnings

Mollie Whitacre

Mollie Whitacre,
Senior, Computer Science

Athens, OH 30 October 2016

I’ve had soccer to look forward to nearly every weekend of my life since I was five years old. That all changed after this past weekend.

The soccer team had to win the last three games of the season to make it to the tournament and we won all, but the last. It was a heartbreaking way to finish a career: losing in overtime with five seconds left.

Soccer was my identity up until two days ago. My new task moving forward is to surround myself with activities and people that will help create my new identity. I have free time for the first time in my four years here at Ohio University.

I am excited to search for more clubs and services that I find interesting. One thing that I came across is the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). I am also interested in learning more about the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM). Both of these organizations are in fields that I enjoy learning more about and hopefully one day can contribute to them.

A chapter of my life may have been closed, but I am ready to turn the page and step foot into something bigger and better.

Leave a Reply

