Working with an OU Alum

Joe Meyer

Joe Meyer,
Junior, Electrical Engineering

Athens, OH 9 January 2017

My sophomore year at Ohio University, I was able to find a co-op with a company called Rovisys, a company that specializes in automation controls. Rovisys came to the career fair, and were represented by two OU graduates. Since then I have been able to get to know many different alumni from Ohio University that work there. I believe that is what makes the Russ College great, its vast network of alumni that are involved.

I started working at Rovisys not knowing what to expect, but soon I found coworkers that were able to help me when I didn’t know what to do, and were always willing to help me out when I had questions. After working with different projects, I found myself relating with a group manager who had graduated from Ohio University in 2008.

After switching groups to the glass division, I found myself working directly with him on his projects. He was able to get me involved with projects that used cutting-edge technology to assist with the glass making and molding process. In that time I was able to learn many different technologies that allowed me to expand my knowledge on PLCs, data analytics, and general systems engineering.

Over the Winter Break, my group manager was able to throw me into a project for four weeks that got my involved in creating the HMI’s for a glass melting process. Instead of working on busy work, I was able to go into work each day knowing that I would be helping with something that excited me. With the guidance of an Ohio University Alum as my project manager, I have been able to greatly advance myself as a professional engineer.

Leave a Reply

