Winter Break Travel

Emily Morello

Emily Morello,
Junior, Mechanical Engineering

Athens, OH 13 January 2017

This past winter break was a very exciting time for me. My only opportunities to work during break were to stay in Athens and work at my Guest Services job at Baker Center or begin research for a professor in Athens. Both of these options sounded great; however, since I live in a sorority house, I was not allowed to stay longer than the Saturday following finals (rules similar to dorms). I am not the type of person to sit around doing nothing, so I decided to plan a vacation.

My cousin Britni recently moved to the lower East Side of Manhattan. I decided to visit her with my boyfriend and brother for a long weekend. It was a great time. Even though this was my fourth time being in New York City, I still went to all of the sites because it was my boyfriend’s first time there. We visited the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, the Top of the Rock, and viewed Times Square. We also went to many local restaurants and events with my cousin, followed by some good old New York City shopping. As much as I loved being there and site seeing, I have realized living in New York City is not the life for me. By the end of the long weekend, I was ready to come back to Ohio.

The next place I went over break was to Fort Lauderdale, Florida. My Mom’s side of the family lives there. My parents like to bring everyone there every year to celebrate Christmas in warm weather with all of our loved ones. For some, that may sound strange since Christmas in Ohio is usually thought of as being cold and snowy. For me, however, being in the warmth is a tradition. Florida was fabulous, as usual, but once again, after being there for nine days I missed the snow and being in Ohio.

Finally, to wrap up my crazy winter break, I began 2017 in Colorado skiing the week before OU started classes. This was my favorite trip of all. I was able to take both the NYC and ski trip because I saved all my internship money from the previous summer to fund special events like those.

We were at the Copper Mountain Resort in Colorado to ski during the trip. I rode a bus for 26 hours to get there, but honestly it was so worth it. Unfortunately, the day we got there we could not see the beautiful mountains…. Actually, we could not see them for the first three days of skiing because there was a blizzard! It was so bad that they actually had to shut down the tunnel connecting Denver to all of the ski resorts. On the bright side, a blizzard meant excellent skiing conditions, powdery slopes and all. On the final day, we lucked out with a blue bird (not a cloud in the sky).

I left Colorado with sore legs and a sad heart because I love that state so much. I have been to Colorado four times now, and each time I love it more and more. That is the state where I wish to establish my engineering career someday.

One thought on “Winter Break Travel

  1. Pingback: Global Consulting Program | Engineering Ambassadors Blog

Leave a Reply

