Moving to Pittsburgh

Kevin White

Kevin White,
Senior, Industrial & Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 26 January 2017

Over Winter break, I got the phone call that I will remember for the rest of my life. I was offered a full-time Industrial Engineer position with FedEx Ground in Pittsburgh, PA…and I accepted the position. I interned with FedEx Ground for the last 3 summers and I loved every second of my experiences. Working there full-time is such an amazing opportunity and I can’t wait to get started.

Working in Pittsburgh full-time means that I am going to move to Pittsburgh, which has always been a lifetime goal of mine. Shortly after accepting the job offer, my mom and I took a whole day and toured about 10 apartments around the area for me to live in. As an engineering major, of course I had my clipboard with me for every apartment and was being way too analytical when it came to the square footage and the pricing. I want to be close to work and close to downtown, so finding a perfectly located apartment was a challenge.

At the end of the day, I sat down and evaluated my top 3 apartments and now am waiting to send in an application. This was an eye-opening experience for me because I saw all of these costs that I am going to be responsible for while entering the real world. As I graduate in April, I will now be transitioning into the next chapter of my life and I am very excited. It has been a great 4 years at Ohio University and the relationships that I have built with the students and faculty here will last a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

