Winter Wonders

Mollie Whitacre

Mollie Whitacre,
Senior, Computer Science

Athens, OH 6 February 2017

Winter is a season that people either hate or love–there usually isn’t an in-between. I am one of those people that love winter for the sole reason that I love snow. With that said, Athens has been lacking the amount of snow which is a bit depressing. Luckily, I was able to go skiing over our winter break in Michigan at a ski resort called Caberfae Peaks.

I started skiing way back in sixth grade, after I was fed up of falling down every thirty seconds on a snowboard. I was amazed the first time I went down a trail on skis, that I had control of myself and didn’t fall! Every since that moment, I never looked back at snowboarding for the sole fact that my body was aching after a day out in the snow.

My favorite thing to do while skiing is meander through the trees. There have been a few instances where I start going really fast and the path is so narrow that you can’t slow down, so you find yourself face first with a tree. Thankfully for me, it has only happened a couple of times.

My favorite skiing story of all time is when my dad was bragging to my sister and I about how fast he could go down a hill. So we waited at the bottom to watch him come flying down, but ten minutes passed and we still couldn’t see him. Eventually, he comes down the hill very slowly to tell us that at the top of the hill he fell and he forgot that he had a golf ball in his pocket. Every since that day, we check our pockets before we go skiing so we don’t almost break our ribs from falling on a golf ball!

Leave a Reply

