Global Consulting Program

Emily Morello

Emily Morello,
Junior, Mechanical Engineering

Athens, OH 19 February 2017

Out of all the courses I am taking this semester, my favorite is my Global Consulting Program Greece Course. It’s not that I don’t enjoy engineering–I find all my courses very interesting and have great professors. It is, however, refreshing having a class that is not math or science based.

I will be studying abroad in Thessaloniki, Greece for two weeks in May for a global consulting internship through the College of Business. Before we leave for the trip, it is required for all students to attend a course that teaches us about the program.

The class meets every Monday from 6-8 pm. The first hour is dedicated to learning everything we will need to know before starting our consulting project in Greece. We were each assigned a team of four or five students to submit mini assignments throughout the semester. Some of our assignments include a team charter; country and city report; pestle analysis; decision matrix; and a presentation at the end. This course is set up similar to a “cluster”, which are team based courses that business students take for a semester at Ohio University.

The second part of the course is to learn the Greek language. This is my favorite part of my Mondays. Our professor is very personable and passionate about this trip. He makes the class fun so everyone is willing to learn. We started out learning the Greek alphabet and then learned how to spell our names. Next, we were taught simple words to hear how Greek sounds.

Each week we add on to the previous week’s topics. We learn a little about the history, cultural differences, and enhance our vocabulary. Our final exam for this course is to be able to say each phrase on a sheet that is front to back that we received the second week of class.

I am very interested in the business section of class. Ultimately, I would like to earn my Masters in Business so I can become an Engineering Manager at some point in my career. I believe that these courses and this internship will help prepare me for my MBA in the future.

I am also very excited about the travel. Like I’ve stated in my previous posts, I do enjoy traveling a lot. I cannot wait to see a different part of the world and grow as an individual. Lastly, I am very excited for all the great relationships that I will gain due to this experience.

Leave a Reply

