The Bittersweet Time that is the End of Spring Semester

Rob Parker

Rob Parker,
Senior, Civil Engineering

Athens, OH 24 April 2017

It’s the time, yet again, in Athens Ohio where the cherry trees are blooming, deadlines are approaching, final exams are being administered and longtime friends are saying their farewells. Yes, spring semester here in Athens is always a bittersweet feeling.

Over the last four years I have had the pleasure of meeting some of the most influential people, participating in outstanding organizations and partaking in opportunities of a lifetime. At the end of this week, I will be saying goodbye to many of my friends and wishing them the best of luck in all of their future endeavors.

Though I will be returning in the fall for one final semester, it feels as if I’m leaving this university at the end of this semester. I have wrapped up the majority of my classes making it so I only have two classes remaining; I have stepped down from all leadership positions within all of my student organizations; and as I mentioned, a good majority of my friends from the last four years are graduating in just a few days.

This is the first time in my life that I am beginning to look at my future and make decisions on a career instead of schooling. With that being said, I couldn’t be more excited to be finishing up and I feel that my experiences over the past four years have prepared me for my career in Civil Engineering.

I am starting a co-op with Shelly and Sands this week and will work for them this summer and continue through the upcoming fall semester. I was lucky enough to land on a project that is located right here in Athens making the transition from school to my co-op a breeze. This summer and through the fall semester will be a test run, for me, of Shelly and Sands to see if I like the company and if the company likes me.

So as I start my new co-op experience, finish my final exams and bid a farewell to all of the graduating seniors I can’t help but be reminded that time certainly does move fast. So as my last blog post ever as an Engineering Ambassador, to all of the graduating seniors: I wish you the best of luck and congratulations on this monumental accomplishment; and for all of you incoming first year students: welcome and good luck with the next 4 to 5 years!

Leave a Reply

