Second Summer at Honda

Andrew Videmsek

Andrew Videmsek,
Senior, Electrical Engineering

Athens, OH 31 August 2017

This past summer I lived in Troy, Ohio, while I was completing my second co-op term with Honda. I was located at Honda’s Anna Engine Plant working in the Engineering North America group. This group’s focus is the design and implementation of specialized production equipment for Honda plants. I was
specifically within the electrical design group working directly with a team of 16 other electrical engineers focused on automated manufacturing.

Similar to my previous co-op at Honda, this term introduced me to a brand-new environment and set of challenges that I have never seen or faced before. The Anna Engine Plant is 2.4 million square foot plant that employs 2800 people to assist in the production of engines for a wide range of Honda vehicles.
Working at a location such as this one I was able to work on tasks that brought forth challenges that are not found at smaller-scale facilities.

The projects I worked on gave me the opportunity to grow my skills in areas such as PLC and HMI programming, as well as in the area of electrical hardware design for automated manufacturing. The main focus for many of my projects was to add automated systems to current lines to help ensure part quality without impacting speed of production. I was fortunate enough to work on projects for my home plant in addition to a project for a Honda plant down in Georgia.

Now that I am back at school for my for senior year, I am able to look back and appreciate the opportunity I had during my co-op. The knowledge and skills that I gained during the past 3 months are ones that I will use for the rest of my academic career as well as long into my career outside of school.

Leave a Reply

