Homecoming Weekend

Leesha Blake

Leesha Blake, Senior, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Athens, OH 17 October 2011

I have been doing A LOT this quarter! Class work takes up most of my time, but when your classes are as interesting as mine, that’s ok. I think the most interesting class that I’m taking right now is Unit Operations. It’s one of those “putting it all together” kinds of classes. The class is a lot of work, but it is so interesting to finally get to see firsthand what we learned in class. The best part is that we work in groups and there are no exams!

Of course, I have also been doing some fun stuff too. This weekend was homecoming weekend, which was especially fun. On Friday night I went to the hockey game, which (lucky for me!) got rescheduled to be a home game instead of an away game. I love going to the hockey games whenever I can. It’s only a few dollars for students to get in, and the hockey team is really good. One of my friends is on the team, so I like to go and watch him play.

Homecoming celebrations happened all day on Saturday. I went to see the parade on Saturday morning, which required me to get up early, but was totally worth it. My favorite entry was the Chinese dragon made entirely from balloons! And of course the Marching 110 and the alumni band were amazing. Every year, alumni from the 110 come back and play in the parade and during halftime at the football game. They are so much fun to watch because it is obvious that they are having a blast out there. I also went to the game that afternoon, which is a great thing to do on weekends because it’s free for students to go. I left before the end, but it was an exciting game.

I’m also looking forward to all of the fun stuff that is coming up soon. Halloween is always a fun time—-everyone has such great costumes! And I have a couple of Halloween parties already planned. College is busy, but definitely fun!

Leave a comment