Athens Farmers Market

Landon Rehmar

Landon Rehmar,
Senior, Industrial & Systems Engineering

Athens, OH 20 October 2017

Fall is finally here and the Athens Farmers Market in its prime. Since the beginning of college, I have made a point to get up early every Saturday morning to go. It is one of my favorite things to do in Athens and something every student should take advantage of.

The Athens Farmers Market began many years ago as a handful of farmers selling local produce. It is now one of the largest farmers markets in the state and showcases farmers, orchardists, specialty food producers, bakers, horticulturalists, cheese makers and a variety of other local products.

I always go Saturday mornings, it is open from 9AM-12PM. It is also open Wednesdays from 9AM – 1PM, which is usually difficult for me to make because of classes. It is located on East State St. which is an easy 5-minute drive from campus.

I try to get majority of my food from the Farmers Market. Everything is fresh, locally grown, and reasonably priced. It’s a great way to experience Athens and support the local economy. I usually try and get something new every time.

Most recently, pawpaws were in season, which is a fruit native to Appalachia. For the past three years I have always wanted to try a pawpaw but have never gotten the chance. Luckily, I got to try one a few weeks ago, and it was amazing! It tastes like a cross between a mango and banana, which sounds strange but is something everyone should try.

I have a few staple foods that I buy every week that usually consist of some produce, frozen meet, and salsa. As far as produce goes, I’m always switching things up, but I usually get kale, squash, potatoes, or apples. The local meats are always a difficult decision to choose between; however, it frequently comes down to ground lamb or beef. One of the last things I get before leaving the market is usually salsa, I would recommend the raspberry chipotle, but they are all great.

Really you cant go wrong with anything you get at the Farmers Market. It is one of my favorite things to do and something I know I will miss next
year when I leave Athens.

Leave a comment