Accepting a Job and Starting My Career

Steven Crane

Steven Crane,
Senior, Engineering Technology and Management

Athens, OH 17 October 2013 – I’ve got great news–I accepted a full time job offer from Gosiger last week! And the crazy thing is…I don’t even graduate until December of 2014! It was a great feeling when they said “we want to extend you a job offer.” And after all the incentives and everything else they offered I accepted it!

Gosiger

Gosiger is a CNC (Computer Numerical Control) Machine Distributor and Engineering Solutions company. They’re located in Dayton, Ohio and I will be working there this summer and will start full time after I graduate.

Gosiger

I really love the Russ College of Engineering and Technology because of how well they prepared me for this opportunity; both in the sense of technical skills, but also how to do a job interview. This is completely different from applying for a job at your local restaurant and temp hire during the summer. THIS IS THE BEGINNING OF A CAREER!

I feel really blessed and thankful for this opportunity that I’ve been presented with. I’ll be a Sales Engineer at Gosiger. As an Engineering Technology and Management student, I was able to achieve my certificate in Technical Sales during my stay at OU. I would highly recommend it because it helped me become a much more well-rounded individual in the business side of engineering because ETM students already are required to minor in business.

You might be wondering to yourself, “Self, I bet he had to stay a whole extra semester/year to earn a certificate in Technical Sales.” Fact is I didn’t. I was able to substitute my technical electives for sales electives.

If you’re interested in the sales centre, here is a link to their website.
http://aspnet.cob.ohio.edu/isms/tsc.aspx

If I were to explain it on this blog, it would be at least a few pages long! A career in sales is not what everyone thinks it is. It is a very rewarding career that I’m ecstatic about and can’t wait to start my career in January 2015!

1 thought on “Accepting a Job and Starting My Career

  1. Pingback: Job Searching | Engineering Ambassadors Blog

Leave a comment